State Leadership

Connect With Gop Groups Choose Your State

Iowa Leadership

Iowa Republican Party


Phone: 515.282.8105

621 E. 9th St. Des Moines, IA 50309

@iowagop     Like on Facebook

State Chairman

Jeff Kaufmann

Chairman Jeff Kaufmann served in the Iowa House of Representatives from 2005 to 2013, including six years in leadership positions in the GOP caucus and two years as Speaker Pro Tem. During his tenure in the Iowa House, he developed a record as a fiscal conservative, Second Amendment defender and a tireless advocate of property rights. Kaufmann represented a competitive district and built a reputation as a consensus problem-solver and constituent advocate. During half of his time in the legislature, Democrats outnumbered Republicans in his district, and Kaufmann maintained working relationships across the aisle.

Kaufmann served eight years on the Ways and Means Committee, and he authored a key anti-eminent domain bill that culminated in a landmark conservative victory overriding a veto by former Democrat Gov. Tom Vilsack. As an Assistant Republican Leader and Speaker Pro Tem, Kaufmann worked with his colleagues to turn around the state’s fiscal house after financial mismanagement by the administration of former Democrat Gov. Chet Culver.

As a member of the House leadership team, Kaufmann engaged in candidate recruitment, raised more than $500,000 for candidates and spoke at events across the state for more than 70 candidates. In 2010, Kaufmann was part of the campaign leadership team that helped elect 60 House Republicans to the chamber.

Kaufmann, 51, is a seventh-generation livestock farmer. He is a department chair at Muscatine Community College, where he teaches history and government. Kaufmann has a 4.8 A+ score on In 2012, Kaufmann was honored as Iowa’s faculty member of the year by the Iowa Association of Community College Trustees. He obtained his B.A., M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Iowa.

Prior to his legislative career, Kaufmann was a Township Trustee and president of the Wilton School Board. Currently, he is a member of the Cedar County Board of Supervisors.

Jeff and his wife, Vicki, have been married for 29 years. They raised three sons: Bobby, a state representative in House District 73; Jacob, a University of Iowa student; and John, a University of Iowa student and chairman of the Iowa Federation of College Republicans.



National Committeewoman

Tamara Scott

National Committeeman

Steve Scheffler


  • National Committeeman, Iowa Republican State Committee, 2008 – Present  
  • President, Iowa Faith and Freedom Coalition
  • Board Member, Iowa Faith and Freedom Coalition
  • Board of Directors, National Faith and Freedom Coalition
  • Board Member, Iowa Christian Alliance


  • Member, Iowa Republican State Committee, 1992-2008
  • Member, Country Central Committee


  • RNC Rules Committee, 2009
  • Delegate, RNC Republican National Convention, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008
  • RNC Credentials Committee, Republican National Convention, 2000, 2004, 2008
  • RNC Permanent Organization Committee, Republican National Convention, 1996
  • RNC Platform Committee, Republican National Convention, 1992
  • Alternate Delegate, Republican National Convention, 1988

Executive Director

Chad Olsen


Terry E. Branstad

Terry E. Branstad was sworn in as governor of Iowa on January 14, 2011. Branstad is Iowa’s longest-serving governor, serving in office from 1983 to 1999. He became Iowa’s lieutenant governor in 1978 and was elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in 1972, 1974 and 1976. Recently, Branstad served as president of Des Moines University. Under Branstad’s leadership, the university became the first college in the U.S. to receive the “Platinum Level of Recognition” from the Wellness Council of America. He and his wife, Chris, have three children and four grandchildren.


Joni Ernst

ERNST, Joni, a Senator from Iowa; born in Red Oak, Montgomery County, Iowa, July 1, 1970; B.A., Iowa State University, 1992; M.P.A., Columbus College (now Columbus State University), Columbus, Ga., 1995; United States Army Reserves, 1993-2001; Iowa Army National Guard, 2001-present, attaining the rank of lieutenant colonel; auditor of Montgomery County, Iowa, 2005-2011; member of the Iowa state senate 2011-2014; elected as a Republican to the United States Senate in 2014 for the term ending January 3, 2021.


Charles Grassley

GRASSLEY, Charles Ernest, a Senator and a Representative from Iowa; born in New Hartford, Butler County, Iowa, September 17, 1933; attended the public schools; graduated, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls 1955; received a graduate degree from the same university in 1956; pursued graduate work, University of Iowa, Iowa City 1957-1958; engaged in agriculture; part-time university instructor; member, Iowa house of representatives 1959-1974; elected in 1974 as a Republican to the Ninety-fourth Congress; reelected to the Ninety-fifth and Ninety-sixth Congresses (January 3, 1975-January 3, 1981); was not a candidate in 1980 for reelection to the House of Representatives, but was elected to the Senate in 1980; reelected in 1986, 1992, 1998, 2004 and again in 2010 for the term ending January 3, 2017; chair, Special Committee on Aging (One Hundred Fifth Congress), Committee on Finance (One Hundred Seventh Congress [January 20 to June 6, 2001], One Hundred Eighth and One Hundred Ninth Congresses), Committee on the Judiciary (One Hundred Fourteenth Congress).


David Young

YOUNG, David, a Representative from Iowa; born in Van Meter, Dallas County, Iowa, May 11, 1968; graduated from Johnston High School, Johnston, Iowa, 1986; B.A., Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa, 1991; businessman; staff, United States Senator Hank Brown of Colorado, 1993-1996; staff, campaign manager, United States Senator James Bunning of Kentucky, 1998-2006; Chief of Staff, United States Senator Charles Grassley of Iowa, 2006-2013; elected as a Republican to the One Hundred Fourteenth Congress (January 3, 2015-present).


Rod Blum

BLUM, Rod, a Representative from Iowa; born in Dubuque, Dubuque County, Iowa, April 26, 1955; graduated from Dubuque Senior High School, Dubuque, Iowa, 1973; B.A., Loras College, Dubuque, Iowa, 1977; M.B.A., University of Dubuque, Dubuque, Iowa, 1989; business executive; unsuccessful candidate for election to the United States House of Representatives in 2011; elected as a Republican to the One Hundred Fourteenth Congress (January 3, 2015-present).


Steve King

KING, Steve, a Representative from Iowa; born in Storm Lake, Buena Vista County, Iowa, May 28, 1949; graduated from Denison Community High School, Denison, Iowa; attended Northwest Missouri State University, Maryville, Mo., 1967-1970; business owner; member of the Iowa state senate, 1996-2002; elected as a Republican to the One Hundred Eighth and to the six succeeding Congresses (January 3, 2003-present).
News & Videos
  • 310 First Street SE, Washington, DC 20003
  • 202-863-8500

Paid for by the Republican National Committee. Not Authorized By Any Candidate Or Candidate's Committee.

Paid for by the Republican National Committee.
Not Authorized By Any Candidate Or Candidate's Committee.

Please check your email to claim your FREE sticker