State Leadership

Connect With Gop Groups Choose Your State

South Dakota Leadership

South Dakota Republican Party


Phone: 605-224-7347 Fax: 605-224-7349

PO Box 1099 Pierre, SD 57501

@sdgop     Like on Facebook

State Chairman

Dan Lederman

National Committeewoman

Sandye Kading

Sandye Kading was elected the Republican National Committee as the National Committeewoman for South Dakota in 2012 and is the President of the South Dakota Federation of Republican Women. She is a strong supporter of the Pro-Life movement and was a peer counselor at the Crisis Pregnancy Center and received training in Abortion Recovery Assistance. Her political activities include serving on the National Federation of Republican Women Board of Directors, the Precinct Captain, Legislative Director, Secretary, County Chairman, State Committeewoman and Member-at-Large for the Pennington GOP, a member of the South Dakota GOP Central Committee, the NFRW Campaign Committee, and the Legislative committee and Leadership Development Committee. She was the principle planner of the 2014 South Dakota Republican Convention. Kading is a member of the SD Right to Life, and a member of the Concerned Women for America, a volunteer with Black Hills Works a nonprofit servicing people with disabilities, former 4-H leader and volunteered with the Angel Tree program on Rosebud Indian Reservation. She currently resides in Rapid City, SD with her husband Lynn, and is the mother of two grown children, Jade and David and Nanna to five grand treasures.

National Committeeman

Ried Holien


Dennis Daugaard

Dennis Daugaard was sworn in as governor of South Dakota on January 8, 2011. During his first year in office, Daugaard worked with the legislature to eliminate a $127 million structural deficit, without raising taxes. This year, Daugaard proposed and signed legislation to focus new state dollars for education on student achievement through teacher bonuses. Daugaard has committed most of his time to creating jobs through expansion of South Dakota businesses and recruitment of new businesses. After earning his law degree, Daugaard passed the Illinois bar exam and worked in the Chicago area for three years. In 1981, he returned to South Dakota and worked for what is now U.S. Bank in Sioux Falls. Nine years later, Daugaard left the bank and began working for the Children’s Home Foundation, the fundraising arm of Children’s Home Society of South Dakota. He worked for 19 years, first as Development Director and then as Chief Operating Officer. Daugaard was elected to the state senate in 1996. From 1996 to 2002 Daugaard served in the state senate and was a member of the State Affairs, Commerce, Education, Taxation, Judiciary, and Government Operations & Audit committees. In 2002, Daugaard began his two-term period as the lieutenant governor of South Dakota with Governor Mike Rounds. As lieutenant governor, Daugaard took an active role in promoting the Honor Flight Program, which arranges chartered flights to take South Dakota’s World War II veterans to Washington, D.C., to visit the WWII Memorial and served as chairman of the Workers Compensation Advisory Council, among other responsibilities. Daugaard graduated from the University of South Dakota in 1975 and earned his law degree from Northwestern University.


Mike Rounds

ROUNDS, Marion Michael (Mike), a Senator from South Dakota; born in Huron, Beadle County, S. Dak., October 24, 1954; B.S., South Dakota State University, 1977; insurance and real estate executive; member of the South Dakota state senate 1991-2000, serving as majority leader 1995-2000; governor of South Dakota 2003-2011; elected as a Republican to the United States Senate in 2014 for the term ending January 3, 2021.


John Thune

THUNE, John, a Senator and a Representative from South Dakota; born in Pierre, Hughes County, S. Dak., January 7, 1961; graduated from Jones County High School, S. Dak., 1979; B.S., Biola University, La Mirada, Calif., 1983; M.B.A., University of South Dakota, Vermillion, S. Dak., 1984; executive director, South Dakota state municipal league; board of directors, National League of Cities; staff, United States Senator James Abdnor of South Dakota 1985-1986; South Dakota state Republican party executive director 1989-1991; director, South Dakota state railroad division 1991-1993; director, South Dakota state municipal league 1993-1996; elected as a Republican to the One Hundred Fifth and to the two succeeding Congresses (January 3, 1997-January 3, 2003); was not a candidate for reelection to the One Hundred Eighth Congress in 2002, but was an unsuccessful candidate for the United States Senate; elected as a Republican to the U.S. Senate in 2004; reelected in 2010 for the term ending January 3, 2017; vice-chair, Republican Conference (2009); chair, Republican Policy Committee (2009-2012); chair, Republican Conference (2012-); chair, Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation (One Hundred Fourteenth Congress).


Kristi Noem

NOEM, Kristi, a Representative from South Dakota; born in Watertown, Codington County, S.Dak., November 30, 1971; graduated from Hamlin High School, Hayti, S.Dak., 1990; attended Mount Marty College, Yankton, S.Dak.; attended Northern State University, Aberdeen, S.Dak., 1990-1992; B.A., South Dakota State University, Brookings, S.Dak., 2011; farmer; rancher; member of the South Dakota state house of representatives, 2007-2010; elected as a Republican to the One Hundred Twelfth and to the two succeeding Congresses (January 3, 2011-present).
Republican National Committee

Connect With Us

Republican National Committee

Follow GOP

Chairwoman Ronna McDaniel

News & Videos
  • 310 First Street SE, Washington, DC 20003
  • 202-863-8500

Paid for by the Republican National Committee. Not Authorized By Any Candidate Or Candidate's Committee.

Paid for by the Republican National Committee.
Not Authorized By Any Candidate Or Candidate's Committee.

Please check your email to claim your FREE sticker